Author & Punisher

Agent: Mahmood Shaikh

———-

After leaving a career as mechanical engineer in Boston to focus on art and sculpture, Tristan Shone, the creator and sole artist behind AUTHOR & PUNISHER, moved west to pursue his MFA in Southern California. In the metal and machine shops of University of California, San Diego, Shone forged a relationship with design, sound and fabrication that ultimately yielded AUTHOR & PUNISHER‘s first music which mapped the journey away from traditional instrumentation towards custom made, precision machinery. Shone used his technical knowledge, along with his artistic background to create what Wired Magazine has hailed as his own “special brand of doom metal”, using these custom “Drone Machines”.

All aspects of the AUTHOR & PUNISHER sound begin with physical movement, limbs struggling in unison to coordinate a wall of electronic rhythm and oscillation, ultimately conditioned by an organic and loose quality absent of plastic perfection. AUTHOR & PUNISHER performances are a real amalgamation between man and mechanisms. They are direct, physical, heavy experiences that have amassed praise and intrigue from a wide array of audiences. Pitchfork styled him “immediate but mysterious,” Stereogum described his “chilling, unrecognizable form,” and NPR hails him as “a thrill [who] fires on all cylinders”.

Read More

Now in 2018, AUTHOR & PUNISHER delivers his sixth full-length recording and Relapse debut Beastland. A robotic experimentation in industrial metal, noise, doom and drone, AUTHOR & PUNISHER recalls Nine Inch Nails channeling Godflesh, traversing through dark, uncompromising, and often disturbing soundscapes with occasional detours into rich melodies and splinters of light. Armed with newly built “Drone Machines” and a new label, Beastland is AUTHOR & PUNISHER’s career-defining statement and a powerful listening experience that further blurs the line between man and machine.

“I built new machines for this album to make more aggressive and dynamic music. These devices are compact and powerful, made from robotic components, intended for high energy repetition. I, as do many others, feel rage against the Beasts of our era: those who horde, who poison, or who discriminate. We need aggressive music to make an aggressive statement. Beastland is an introspection of who we are as a human race. At a time when we have the tools, the intellect, and the history to remind us how to treat each other and the earth, we go far out of our way to feast on the less fortunate and vulnerable, disregarding the atrocities and lessons of the past.”

Visit Author & Punisher's Website Visit Author & Punisher on Facebook Visit Author & Punisher on Twitter

Author & Punisher Downloads:

Author & Punisher on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 22 Nov 2019

AUSTIN

TX

EMPIRE CONTROL ROOM & GARAGE

Sat, 23 Nov 2019

DALLAS

TX

GAS MONKEY BAR & GRILL

Sun, 24 Nov 2019

HOUSTON

TX

WHITE OAK MUSIC HALL

Mon, 25 Nov 2019

NEW ORLEANS

LA

THE PARISH AT HOUSE OF BLUES

Tue, 26 Nov 2019

ORLANDO

FL

THE ABBEY

Sat, 30 Nov 2019

RICHMOND

VA

CANAL CLUB

Sun, 1 Dec 2019

NEW YORK

NY

LE POISSON ROUGE

Mon, 2 Dec 2019

ALLSTON

MA

BRIGHTON MUSIC HALL

Tue, 3 Dec 2019

PHILADELPHIA

PA

FOUNDRY AT THE FILLMORE

Wed, 4 Dec 2019

TORONTO

ON

THE OPERA HOUSE

Thu, 5 Dec 2019

CHICAGO

IL

METRO

Fri, 6 Dec 2019

LAWRENCE

KS

GRANADA THEATRE

Sat, 7 Dec 2019

DENVER

CO

THE ORIENTAL THEATER

Sun, 8 Dec 2019

GRAND JUNCTION

CO

THE MESA THEATRE

Tue, 10 Dec 2019

ALBUQUERQUE

NM

EL REY THEATER

Wed, 11 Dec 2019

MESA

AZ

CLUB RED

Thu, 12 Dec 2019

LOS ANGELES

CA

THE REGENT THEATRE

Fri, 13 Dec 2019

LAS VEGAS

NV

FREMONT COUNTRY CLUB

Sat, 14 Dec 2019

FRESNO

CA

STRUMMER'S

Sun, 15 Dec 2019

BERKELEY

CA

THE UC THEATRE

Tue, 17 Dec 2019

SEATTLE

WA

THE SHOWBOC

Wed, 18 Dec 2019

PORTLAND

OR

BOSSANOVA BALLROOM

Thu, 19 Dec 2019

SACRAMENTO

CA

HOLY DIVER

Fri, 20 Dec 2019

POMONA

CA

THE GLASS HOUSE

Sun, 22 Dec 2019

SAN DIEGO

CA

BRICK BY BRICK