Amythyst Kiah

Agent: Chris Colbourn
———

“Amythyst Kiah is one of roots music’s most exciting emerging talents, blending a deep knowledge of old time music with sensibilities spanning classic country to contemporary R&B.” —Rolling Stone

“Her razor-sharp guitar picking alone guarantees her a place among blues masters, but it’s her deep-hued voice that can change on a dime from brushed steel to melted toffee that commands attention.” —The New York Times

Read The New York Times review of Amythyst’s Globalfest performance

Born in Chattanooga and now based in Johnson City, Amythyst Kiah’s commanding stage presence is matched by her raw and powerful vocals—a deeply moving, hypnotic sound that stirs echoes of a distant and restless past.

Accompanied interchangeably with banjo, acoustic guitar, or a full band, her eclectic influences span decades, finding inspiration in old time music, alternative rock, folk, country, and blues.

Our Native Daughters, her recent collaboration with Rhiannon Giddens, Leyla McCalla, and Allison Russell (Birds of Chicago), has delivered a full-length album produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell, Songs of Our Native Daughters (out now on Smithsonian Folkways). NPR described the opening track, “Black Myself”, written by Amythyst, as “the simmering defiance of self-respect in the face of racism.” The supergroup will hit the road in July with a series of special dates that include performances at Washington D.C.’s Smithsonian Museum of African American History & Culture as well as Newport Folk Festival. Most recently, the group has been nominated for Duo/Group of the Year at the 2019 Americana Honors & Awards.

Amythyst regularly tours the United Kingdom and has performed at Celtic Connections, Southern Fried Festival, Cambridge Folk Festival, the Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival, and SummerTyne Americana Festival. She is a crowd favorite at Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion in the U.S. and has shined at the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts, Smithsonian Folk Life Festival, Winnipeg Folk Festival, and opening for artists such as the Indigo Girls, Rhiannon Giddens, Dom Flemons, Old Crow Medicine Show, First Aid Kit, Darrell Scott, and Tim O’Brien.

Provocative and fierce, Amythyst’s ability to cross boundaries is groundbreaking and simply unforgettable.

Watch Amythyst’s performance of “Black Myself” at Austin City Limits 2019.

VISIT AMYTHYST KIAH’S INSTAGRAM

Visit Amythyst Kiah's Website Visit Amythyst Kiah on Facebook Visit Amythyst Kiah on Twitter

Amythyst Kiah Downloads:

Amythyst Kiah on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 20 Dec 2019

BRISTOL

VA

CAMEO THEATER

Sat, 4 Jan 2020

SPARTA

NC

MUDDY CREEK MUSIC HALL

Tue, 7 Jan 2020

CAMBRIDGE

MA

THE SINCLAIR

Wed, 8 Jan 2020

BROOKLYN

NY

MUSIC HALL OF WILLIAMSBURG

Fri, 10 Jan 2020

WASHINGTON

DC

9:30 CLUB

Sat, 11 Jan 2020

PHILADELPHIA

PA

WORLD CAFE LIVE

Sun, 12 Jan 2020

TORONTO

ON

HORSESHOE TAVERN

Tue, 14 Jan 2020

EVANSTON

IL

SPACE

Wed, 15 Jan 2020

MINNEAPOLIS

MN

FINE LINE CAFE

Fri, 17 Jan 2020

ST. LOUIS

MO

OFF BROADWAY

Sat, 18 Jan 2020

INDIANAPOLIS

IN

HI-FI

Sun, 19 Jan 2020

COLUMBUS

OH

A&R MUSIC BAR

Tue, 21 Jan 2020

CINCINNATI

OH

THE BALLROOM AT THE TAFT THEATRE

Wed, 22 Jan 2020

ASHEVILLE

NC

THE GREY EAGLE

Thu, 23 Jan 2020

CARRBORO

NC

CAT'S CRADLE

Fri, 24 Jan 2020

ATLANTA

GA

TERMINAL WEST

Mon, 3 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Tue, 4 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Wed, 5 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Thu, 6 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Fri, 7 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Sat, 8 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Sun, 9 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Mon, 10 Feb 2020

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Tue, 11 Feb 2020

DENVER

CO

BLUEBIRD THEATER

Wed, 12 Feb 2020

SALT LAKE CITY

UT

THE STATE ROOM

Fri, 14 Feb 2020

BILLINGS

MT

PUB STATION

Sat, 15 Feb 2020

MISSOULA

MT

THE TOP HAT

Sun, 16 Feb 2020

SEATTLE

WA

THE CROCODILE

Tue, 18 Feb 2020

VANCOUVER

BC

HOLLYWOOD THEATER

Wed, 19 Feb 2020

PORTLAND

OR

ALADDIN THEATRE

Fri, 21 Feb 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

GREAT AMERICAN MUSIC HALL

Sat, 22 Feb 2020

LOS ANGELES

CA

TROUBADOUR

Sun, 23 Feb 2020

SAN DIEGO

CA

MUSIC BOX

Sat, 7 Mar 2020

WINSTON-SALEM

NC

STEVENS CENTER

Fri, 13 Mar 2020

BALTIMORE

MD

CREATIVE ALLIANCE & THE BALTIMORE OLDTIME MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sat, 14 Mar 2020

BALTIMORE

MD

CREATIVE ALLIANCE & THE BALTIMORE OLDTIME MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sun, 22 Mar 2020

NEW CUMBERLAND

WV

MONTANI SEMPER LIBERI FESTIVAL

Thu, 26 Mar 2020

SAVANNAH

GA

SAVANNAH MUSIC FESTIVAL

Fri, 24 Apr 2020

WILKESBORO

NC

MERLEFEST

Sat, 25 Apr 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

PACIFIC COASTAL CRUISE

Sun, 26 Apr 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

PACIFIC COASTAL CRUISE

Mon, 27 Apr 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

PACIFIC COASTAL CRUISE

Tue, 28 Apr 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

PACIFIC COASTAL CRUISE

Wed, 29 Apr 2020

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

PACIFIC COASTAL CRUISE

Fri, 11 Sep 2020

BRISTOL

VA

BRISTOL RHYTHM & ROOTS FESTIVAL

Sat, 12 Sep 2020

BRISTOL

VA

BRISTOL RHYTHM & ROOTS FESTIVAL