The Steel Wheels

Agent: Chris Colbourn
————-

“Few groups have come as far in such a short period of time as The Steel Wheels…” –NPR’s Mountain Stage

“What sets The Steel Wheels apart from many bands is the combination of their stellar instrumentals, accentuated by the one of a kind lead vocal of Wagler, and keenly supported by strong harmonies. Eric Brubaker on fiddle, Jay Lapp on mandolin, and Brian Dickel on bass weave in and out intricately throughout this record, painting vivid imagery which flows effortlessly, just teasing the lyrics enough to allow them to resonate within you.”   —Country Standard Time

New from The Steel Wheels: Wild As We Came Here, out April 28, 2017.

Produced by Sam Kassirer (Lake Street Dive, Josh Ritter, Elephant Revival) and recorded at Kassirer’s studio in rural Maine, Wild As We Came Here compounds on 2015’s Leave Some Things Behind with a broad, rich musical palette and delivers the band’s most explorative album yet.

Based in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Steel Wheels is a band that marries old-time musical traditions with their own innovative sound. In the beginning, it was simply a matter of four young men who happened to cross paths at a formative moment in each of their lives, reveling in the shared experience of plucking acoustic instruments and blending their voices. But over the years, what began organically evolved into a mission: to fuse the personal with the universal, the deeply rooted past with the joys and sorrows of everyday existence. Smearing the boundaries separating blues, bluegrass, and gospel music, the band’s sound has earned them multiple awards and a near-permanent place atop independent music and Americana charts. Lead singer Trent Wagler’s powerful, weathered tenor is joined by bell-clear four-part harmonies. Add Eric Brubaker’s lively and evocative fiddle, Brian Dickel’s grounded yet buoyant upright bass, and Jay Lapp’s signature mandolin style, and it’s no surprise that The Steel Wheels have burst onto the roots music scene, becoming festival favorites and selling out venues across the country.

 

Visit The Steel Wheels's Website Visit The Steel Wheels on Facebook Visit The Steel Wheels on Twitter

The Steel Wheels Downloads:

The Steel Wheels on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Sat, 18 Feb 2017

BROKEN BOW

NE

KINKAIDER BREWING CO.

Sun, 19 Feb 2017

DES MOINES

IA

DES MOINES SOCIAL CLUB

Mon, 20 Feb 2017

MADISON

WI

HIGH NOON SALOON

Tue, 21 Feb 2017

KALAMAZOO

MI

BELL'S ECCENTRIC CAFE

Wed, 22 Feb 2017

COLUMBUS

OH

THE REFRECTORY

Wed, 22 Mar 2017

FAYETTEVILLE

AR

GEORGE'S MAJESTIC

Wed, 23 Mar 2016

LITTLE ROCK

AR

SOUTH ON MAIN

Fri, 24 Mar 2017

AUSTIN

TX

CACTUS CAFE

Sat, 25 Mar 2017

COMFORT

TX

HOUSE CONCERT

Sun, 26 Mar 2017

BATON ROUGE

LA

DYSON HOUSE LISTENING ROOM

Fri, 7 Apr 2017

LEWISBURG

WV

CARNEGIE HALL

Sat, 8 Apr 2017

POUGHKEEPSIE

NY

HUDSON VALLEY BLUEGRASS ASSOCIATION

Sun, 9 Apr 2017

CAZENOVA

NY

NELSON ODEON

Fri, 28 Apr 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE

VA

JEFFERSON THEATER

Sat, 29 Apr 2017

DECATUR

GA

EDDIE'S ATTIC

Sun, 30 Apr 2017

WILKESBORO

NC

MERLEFEST

Tue, 2 May 2017

KNOXVILLE

TN

BARLEY'S TAPROOM

Thu, 4 May 2017

ST LOUIS

MO

OFF BROADWAY

Fri, 5 May 2017

LAWRENCE

KS

THE BOTTLENECK

Sat, 6 May 2017

WICHITA

KS

THE ORPHEUM

Sun, 7 May 2017

HASTINGS

NE

THE LISTENING ROOM

Mon, 8 May 2017

CEDAR RAPIDS

IA

CSPS

Wed, 10 May 2017

MINNEAPOLIS

MN

DAKOTA JAZZ CLUB

Thu, 11 May 2017

CHICAGO

IL

OLD TOWN SCHOOL OF FOLK MUSIC

Sat, 13 May 2017

PENINSULA

OH

G.A.R. HALL

Sat, 27 May 2017

GALAX

VA

BLUE RIDGE MUSIC CENTER

Mon, 5 Jun 2017

PITTSBURGH

PA

CLUB CAFE

Tue, 6 Jun 2017

NORTHAMPTON

MA

PARLOR ROOM @ SIGNATURE SOUNDS

Wed, 7 Jun 2017

NEW YORK

NY

CITY WINERY

Thu, 8 Jun 2017

CAMBRIDGE

MA

CLUB PASSIM

Fri, 9 Jun 2017

CHESTERTOWN

MD

GARFIELD CENTER FOR THE ARTS @ THE PRINCE

Sat, 10 Jun 2017

ANNAPOLIS

MD

RAM'S HEAD ON STAGE

Sun, 11 Jun 2017

PHILADELPHIA

PA

WORLD CAFE LIVE UPSTAIRS

Fri, 14 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sat, 15 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sun, 16 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sat, 29 Jul 2017

FLOYD

VA

FLOYD FEST

Sun, 30 Jul 2017

FLOYD

VA

FLOYD FEST

Sat, 14 Oct 2017

HARRISONBURG

VA

EASTERN MENNONITE UNIVERSITY