The Steel Wheels

Agent: Chris Colbourn
————-

“Few groups have come as far in such a short period of time as The Steel Wheels…” –NPR’s Mountain Stage

“What sets The Steel Wheels apart from many bands is the combination of their stellar instrumentals, accentuated by the one of a kind lead vocal of Wagler, and keenly supported by strong harmonies. Eric Brubaker on fiddle, Jay Lapp on mandolin, and Brian Dickel on bass weave in and out intricately throughout this record, painting vivid imagery which flows effortlessly, just teasing the lyrics enough to allow them to resonate within you.”   —Country Standard Time

New from The Steel Wheels: Wild As We Came Here, out May 5, 2017.

Hailing from the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Steel Wheels are familiar with the traditions of folk music and how a string band is supposed to sound. In fact, they’ve been drawing on those steadfast traditions for more than a decade. Yet, their name also evokes a sense of forward motion, which is clearly reflected in their latest album, Wild As We Came Here.

The Steel Wheels recorded their album in rural Maine, where producer Sam Kassirer (Lake Street Dive, Josh Ritter) owns a recording studio inside a renovated farmhouse from the 18th century. All four band members – Trent Wagler (guitar, banjo), Eric Brubaker (fiddle), Brian Dickel (upright bass) and Jay Lapp (mandolin) – hunkered down for a week and a half to create Wild As We Came Here.

The band’s name is a tip of the hat to steam-powered trains, industrial progress and the buggies of their Mennonite lineage. Their musical style weaves through Americana and bluegrass, folk and old-time music, and the acoustic poetry of the finest singer-songwriters. By incorporating percussion and keyboards into their recording sessions for the first time, Wild As We Came Here adds new textures to their catalog, as themes of discovery and perseverance run throughout the collection.

 

Visit The Steel Wheels's Website Visit The Steel Wheels on Facebook Visit The Steel Wheels on Twitter

The Steel Wheels Downloads:

The Steel Wheels on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Wed, 10 May 2017

Minneapolis

MN

Dakota Jazz Club

Thu, 11 May 2017

CHICAGO

IL

OLD TOWN SCHOOL OF FOLK MUSIC

Fri, 12 May 2017

GOSHEN

IN

GOSHEN THEATER

Sat, 13 May 2017

PENINSULA

OH

G.A.R. HALL

Thu, 25 May 2017

Thomas

WV

Purple Fiddle

Fri, 26 May 2017

Greer

SC

Spinning Jenny

Sat, 27 May 2017

GALAX

VA

BLUE RIDGE MUSIC CENTER

Sun, 28 May 2017

Asheville

NC

The Grey Eagle

Mon, 5 Jun 2017

PITTSBURGH

PA

CLUB CAFE

Tue, 6 Jun 2017

NORTHAMPTON

MA

PARLOR ROOM @ SIGNATURE SOUNDS

Wed, 7 Jun 2017

NEW YORK

NY

CITY WINERY

Thu, 8 Jun 2017

CAMBRIDGE

MA

CLUB PASSIM

Fri, 9 Jun 2017

CHESTERTOWN

MD

GARFIELD CENTER FOR THE ARTS @ THE PRINCE

Sat, 10 Jun 2017

ANNAPOLIS

MD

RAM'S HEAD ON STAGE

Sun, 11 Jun 2017

PHILADELPHIA

PA

WORLD CAFE LIVE UPSTAIRS

Wed, 21 Jun 2017

Nashville

TN

Station Inn

Thu, 22 Jun 2017

Nashville

IN

Red Barn

Fri, 23 Jun 2017

Memphis

TN

Levitt Shell

Sat, 24 Jun 2017

Johnson City

TN

The Willow Tree Coffeehouse & Music Room

Wed, 5 Jul 2017

Peterborough

NH

Folk Society at Bass Hall

Thu, 6 Jul 2017

Fall River

MA

Narrows Center For The Arts

Fri, 7 Jul 2017

Newburyport

MA

Firehouse Center For The Arts

Fri, 14 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sat, 15 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sun, 16 Jul 2017

MOUNT SOLON

VA

RED WING ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Thu, 20 Jul 2017

Hendersonville

NC

Rhythm & Brews Concert Series

Fri, 21 Jul 2017

Athens

GA

The Foundry

Sat, 22 Jul 2017

Charlotte

NC

Neighborhood Theatre

Sat, 29 Jul 2017

FLOYD

VA

FLOYD FEST

Sun, 30 Jul 2017

FLOYD

VA

FLOYD FEST

Sun, 6 Aug 2017

Canmore

Canada

Canmore Folk Festival

Mon, 7 Aug 2017

Canmore

Canada

Canmore Folk Festival

Sun, 13 Aug 2017

Lancaster

PA

Long's Park Ampitheater

Fri, 25 Aug 2017

Ontonagon

MI

Porcupine Mountains Music Festival

Sun, 27 Aug 2017

Ann Arbor

MI

The Ark

Sat, 9 Sep 2017

Brevard

NC

Mountain Song Festival

Sat, 16 Sep 2017

Winfield

KS

Walnut Valley Festival

Sun, 17 Sep 2017

Winfield

KS

Walnut Valley Festival

Thu, 21 Sep 2017

Boulder

CO

Chautauqua Auditorium

Sat, 14 Oct 2017

HARRISONBURG

VA

EASTERN MENNONITE UNIVERSITY