Ruthie Foster

Agent: Tom Gold (North America, Asia, Australia, & New Zealand)

———-

“…there is no denying the spirit.” -USA TODAY

“The one thing you can count on from Ruthie Foster anytime she steps onto a stage is being blown away by both her powerhouse voice and her familial warmth. …the Texas singer-songwriter brought the standing room only crowd into her embrace, holding them gently in her grip like a long-lost cousin for almost two hours of song and story.” – Atlanta Journal Constitution

“There’s no denying the power of Foster’s monstrous voice” -Paste Magazine

“If you’re not smiling as you listen to Ruthie Foster’s new album, Joy Comes Back, then you might want to check the condition of your heart. On this album…Foster joyfully delivers a set of ten infectious songs that carry powerful images of hope and love.” – DOWNBEAT

In the tightknit musical community of Austin, Texas, it’s tough to get away with posturing. You either bring it, or you don’t.

If you do, word gets around. And one day, you find yourself duetting with Bonnie Raitt, or standing onstage with the Allman Brothers at New York’s Beacon Theater and trading verses with Susan Tedeschi. You might even wind up getting nominated for a Best Blues Album Grammy — three times in a row. And those nominations would be in addition to your seven Blues Music Awards, three Austin Music Awards, the Grand Prix du Disque award from the Académie Charles-Cros in France, and a Living Blues Critics’ Award for Female Blues Artist of the Year.

There’s only one Austinite with that résumé: Ruthie Foster.

The small rural town of Gause, TX had no chance of keeping the vocal powerhouse known as Ruthie Foster to itself. The worship services at her community church and influences like Mavis Staples and Aretha Franklin created the foundation of her vocal capabilities, which developed into her own sound which is unable to be contained within a single genre. That uniqueness echoes a common theme in Ruthie’s life and career – marching to the beat of her own drum.

Read More
Joining the Navy was one way for Ruthie to stake out her own path. It was during her time singing for the Navy band Pride that her love for performing became apparent. After leaving the service, Ruthie signed a development deal with Atlantic Records and moved to New York City to pursue a career as a professional musician.

A deal with a major label would seem to be a dream come true for a budding artist, but the label favored Ruthie as a pop star. In another bold move, she walked away from the deal and returned to her roots, moving back to the Lone Star State.

Returning to Texas, Ruthie solidified her place as an up-and-coming singer/songwriter and began a musical partnership with Blue Corn Music, whom she has stood beside for all her releases over the past two decades.

Now comes Ruthie’s latest – Joy Comes Back – again on Blue Corn Music. When she recorded this album, Foster wasn’t merely singing about love and loss; she was splitting a household and custody of her 5-year-old daughter. Music was her therapy.

The comfort she felt within the studio gave her the strength to pour the heartache of her family’s fracture and the cautious hope of a new love into 10 incredible tracks, nine of which are by a diverse array of writers ranging from Mississippi John Hurt and Grace Pettis (daughter of renowned folk singer Pierce Pettis), to Chris Stapleton and Black Sabbath. It takes a true artist to make an outside song their own and, if you know Ruthie, you know she succeeds. The Recording Academy might want to put its engraver on notice. Every note on Joy Comes Back confirms this truth: It’s Ruthie’s time.

At one point, producer Daniel Barrett described the album to local hero Warren Hood, who lays fiddle and mandolin on “Richland Woman Blues,” as “some blues, some folk, some soul, some rock, some gospel.” Hood replied, “Sounds like Ruthie Foster music.”

Visit Ruthie Foster's Website Visit Ruthie Foster on Facebook Visit Ruthie Foster on Twitter

Ruthie Foster Downloads:

Ruthie Foster on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Sat, 17 Nov 2018

WASHINGTON

DC

CITY WINERY DC

Fri, 14 Dec 2018

JACKSON

WY

CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Sat, 15 Dec 2018

RANCHO

CA

LEWIS FAMILY PLAYHOUSE

Sun, 16 Dec 2018

SANTA BARBARA

CA

UCSB CAMPBELL HALL

Fri, 18 Jan 2019

NASHVILLE

TN

CITY WINERY NASHVILLE

Sat, 19 Jan 2019

MEMPHIS

TN

THE BUCKMAN PERFORMING AND FINE ARTS CENTER

Sat, 26 Jan 2019

AUSTIN

TX

PARAMOUNT THEATRE

Tue, 29 Jan 2019

FAYETTEVILLE

AR

WALTON ARTS CENTER

Wed, 30 Jan 2019

FAYETTEVILLE

AR

WALTON ARTS CENTER

Thu, 31 Jan 2019

FAYETTEVILLE

AR

WALTON ARTS CENTER

Thu, 22 Feb 2018

LUBBOCK

TX

ALLEN THEATER

Mon, 25 Feb 2019

TAMPA

FL

KEEPING THE BLUES ALIVE AT SEA

Tue, 26 Feb 2019

TAMPA

FL

KEEPING THE BLUES ALIVE AT SEA

Wed, 27 Feb 2019

TAMPA

FL

KEEPING THE BLUES ALIVE AT SEA

Thu, 28 Feb 2019

TAMPA

FL

KEEPING THE BLUES ALIVE AT SEA

Fri, 1 Mar 2019

TAMPA

FL

KEEPING THE BLUES ALIVE AT SEA

Fri, 8 Mar 2019

PARK FOREST

IL

FREEDOM HALL

Wed, 13 Mar 2019

SEATTLE

WA

THE TRIPLE DOOR

Thu, 14 Mar 2019

SEATTLE

WA

THE TRIPLE DOOR

Thu, 15 Mar 2018

PORTLAND

OR

ALBERTA ROSE THEATER

Fri, 16 Mar 2018

EUGENE

OR

THE SHEDD INSTITUTE

Sun, 17 Mar 2019

BEND

OR

TOWER THEATER

Thu, 18 Apr 2019

TYAGARAH

AUSTRALIA

BLUESFEST BYRON BAY

Fri, 19 Apr 2019

TYAGARAH

AUSTRALIA

BLUESFEST BYRON BAY

Sat, 20 Apr 2019

TYAGARAH

AUSTRALIA

BLUESFEST BYRON BAY

Sun, 21 Apr 2019

TYAGARAH

AUSTRALIA

BLUESFEST BYRON BAY

Mon, 22 Apr 2019

TYAGARAH

AUSTRALIA

BLUESFEST BYRON BAY

Tue, 1 May 2018

ST. ALBERT

CANADA

ARDEN THEATER

Thu, 2 May 2019

FORT

CANADA

DOW CENTENNIAL CENTRE, SHELL THEATRE

Sat, 4 May 2019

BANFF

CANADA

THE BANFF CENTRE