Ruthie Foster

Agent: Tom Gold (US, Canada, Asia, Australia, & New Zealand)

———-

“…there is no denying the spirit.” -USA TODAY

“The one thing you can count on from Ruthie Foster anytime she steps onto a stage is being blown away by both her powerhouse voice and her familial warmth. …the Texas singer-songwriter brought the standing room only crowd into her embrace, holding them gently in her grip like a long-lost cousin for almost two hours of song and story.” – Atlanta Journal Constitution

“The energy she brings with just voice and guitar is stunning. Ruthie’s drawn comparisons to Ella and Aretha, but musically neither is really close. What she does have in common with Fitzgerald and Franklin is the irresistible blaze – its impossible to look away, even close the eyes, for one second.” -Philadelphia City Paper

In the tightknit musical community of Austin, Texas, it’s tough to get away with posturing. You either bring it, or you don’t.

If you do, word gets around. And one day, you find yourself duetting with Bonnie Raitt, or standing onstage with the Allman Brothers at New York’s Beacon Theater and trading verses with Susan Tedeschi. You might even wind up getting nominated for a Best Blues Album Grammy — three times in a row. And those nominations would be in addition to your seven Blues Music Awards, three Austin Music Awards, the Grand Prix du Disque award from the Académie Charles-Cros in France, and a Living Blues Critics’ Award for Female Blues Artist of the Year.

There’s only one Austinite with that résumé: Ruthie Foster.

The small rural town of Gause, TX had no chance of keeping the vocal powerhouse known as Ruthie Foster to itself. The worship services at her community church and influences like Mavis Staples and Aretha Franklin created the foundation of her vocal capabilities, which developed into her own sound which is unable to be contained within a single genre. That uniqueness echoes a common theme in Ruthie’s life and career – marching to the beat of her own drum.

Read More
Joining the Navy was one way for Ruthie to stake out her own path. It was during her time singing for the Navy band Pride that her love for performing became apparent. After leaving the service, Ruthie signed a development deal with Atlantic Records and moved to New York City to pursue a career as a professional musician.

A deal with a major label would seem to be a dream come true for a budding artist, but the label favored Ruthie as a pop star. In another bold move, she walked away from the deal and returned to her roots, moving back to the Lone Star State.

Returning to Texas, Ruthie solidified her place as an up-and-coming singer/songwriter and began a musical partnership with Blue Corn Music, whom she has stood beside for all her releases over the past two decades.

Now comes Ruthie’s latest – Joy Comes Back – again on Blue Corn Music. When she recorded this album, Foster wasn’t merely singing about love and loss; she was splitting a household and custody of her 5-year-old daughter. Music was her therapy.

The comfort she felt within the studio gave her the strength to pour the heartache of her family’s fracture and the cautious hope of a new love into 10 incredible tracks, nine of which are by a diverse array of writers ranging from Mississippi John Hurt and Grace Pettis (daughter of renowned folk singer Pierce Pettis), to Chris Stapleton and Black Sabbath. It takes a true artist to make an outside song their own and, if you know Ruthie, you know she succeeds. The Recording Academy might want to put its engraver on notice. Every note on Joy Comes Back confirms this truth: It’s Ruthie’s time.

At one point, producer Daniel Barrett described the album to local hero Warren Hood, who lays fiddle and mandolin on “Richland Woman Blues,” as “some blues, some folk, some soul, some rock, some gospel.” Hood replied, “Sounds like Ruthie Foster music.”

Visit Ruthie Foster's Website Visit Ruthie Foster on Facebook Visit Ruthie Foster on Twitter

Ruthie Foster Downloads:

Ruthie Foster on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 1 Dec 2017

Dallas

TX

The Kessler Theater

Sat, 2 Dec 2017

Houston

TX

The Heights Theater

Fri, 8 Dec 2017

W Spicewood

TX

Poodie's Roadhouse

Sat, 9 Dec 2017

La Grange

TX

The Bugle Boy

Fri, 15 Dec 2017

Orange

CA

Musco Center at Chapman University

Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Santa Barbara

CA

UCSB Campbell Hall

Sun, 17 Dec 2017

Los Angeles

CA

The Theatre at the Ace Hotel

Tue, 19 Dec 2017

San Luis Obispo

CA

Christopher Cohan Center

Fri, 5 Jan 2018

Denver

CO

Daniels Hall at Swallow Hill Music Hall

Fri, 6 Jan 2017

Phoenix

AZ

MIM Music Theater

Thu, 18 Jan 2018

Wimberly

TX

Susanna's Kitchen

Sat, 27 Jan 2018

Hopkins

MN

Hopkins Center for the Arts

Fri, 2 Feb 2018

Washington

DC

Kennedy Center Jazz Club

Sat, 3 Feb 2018

NEW YORK

NY

ZANKEL HALL AT CARNEGIE HALL

Wed, 28 Feb 2018

Worthington

OH

Natalie's Coal Fired Pizza and Live Music

Thu, 1 Mar 2018

Worthington

OH

Natalie's Coal Fired Pizza and Live Music

Sat, 3 Mar 2018

Middletown

OH

Dave Finkelman Auditorium

Sat, 4 Mar 2017

Kent

OH

The Kent Stage

Thu, 16 Mar 2017

KENNETT SQ

PA

LONGWOOD GARDENS

Fri, 17 Mar 2017

AJAX

ON

MUSIC BY THE BAY LIVE

Fri, 13 Apr 2018

Randolph

VT

Chandler Center For The Arts

Fri, 20 Apr 2018

New Braunfels

TX

Brauntex Theatre

Sat, 28 Apr 2018

Abilene

TX

Key City Rhythm and Blues Festival

Sat, 9 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Sun, 10 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Mon, 11 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Tue, 12 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Wed, 13 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Thu, 14 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Fri, 15 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam

Sat, 16 Jun 2018

Rotterdam

Netherlands

MS Rotterdam