Ruthie Foster

Agent: Tom Gold (US, Canada, Asia, Australia, & New Zealand)

———-

“…there is no denying the spirit.” -USA TODAY

“The one thing you can count on from Ruthie Foster anytime she steps onto a stage is being blown away by both her powerhouse voice and her familial warmth. …the Texas singer-songwriter brought the standing room only crowd into her embrace, holding them gently in her grip like a long-lost cousin for almost two hours of song and story.” – Atlanta Journal Constitution

“The energy she brings with just voice and guitar is stunning. Ruthie’s drawn comparisons to Ella and Aretha, but musically neither is really close. What she does have in common with Fitzgerald and Franklin is the irresistible blaze – its impossible to look away, even close the eyes, for one second.” -Philadelphia City Paper

In the tightknit musical community of Austin, Texas, it’s tough to get away with posturing. You either bring it, or you don’t.

If you do, word gets around. And one day, you find yourself duetting with Bonnie Raitt, or standing onstage with the Allman Brothers at New York’s Beacon Theater and trading verses with Susan Tedeschi. You might even wind up getting nominated for a Best Blues Album Grammy — three times in a row. And those nominations would be in addition to your seven Blues Music Awards, three Austin Music Awards, the Grand Prix du Disque award from the Académie Charles-Cros in France, and a Living Blues Critics’ Award for Female Blues Artist of the Year.

There’s only one Austinite with that résumé: Ruthie Foster.

The small rural town of Gause, TX had no chance of keeping the vocal powerhouse known as Ruthie Foster to itself. The worship services at her community church and influences like Mavis Staples and Aretha Franklin created the foundation of her vocal capabilities, which developed into her own sound which is unable to be contained within a single genre. That uniqueness echoes a common theme in Ruthie’s life and career – marching to the beat of her own drum.

Read More
Joining the Navy was one way for Ruthie to stake out her own path. It was during her time singing for the Navy band Pride that her love for performing became apparent. After leaving the service, Ruthie signed a development deal with Atlantic Records and moved to New York City to pursue a career as a professional musician.

A deal with a major label would seem to be a dream come true for a budding artist, but the label favored Ruthie as a pop star. In another bold move, she walked away from the deal and returned to her roots, moving back to the Lone Star State.

Returning to Texas, Ruthie solidified her place as an up-and-coming singer/songwriter and began a musical partnership with Blue Corn Music, whom she has stood beside for all her releases over the past two decades.

Now comes Ruthie’s latest – Joy Comes Back – again on Blue Corn Music. When she recorded this album, Foster wasn’t merely singing about love and loss; she was splitting a household and custody of her 5-year-old daughter. Music was her therapy.

The comfort she felt within the studio gave her the strength to pour the heartache of her family’s fracture and the cautious hope of a new love into 10 incredible tracks, nine of which are by a diverse array of writers ranging from Mississippi John Hurt and Grace Pettis (daughter of renowned folk singer Pierce Pettis), to Chris Stapleton and Black Sabbath. It takes a true artist to make an outside song their own and, if you know Ruthie, you know she succeeds. The Recording Academy might want to put its engraver on notice. Every note on Joy Comes Back confirms this truth: It’s Ruthie’s time.

At one point, producer Daniel Barrett described the album to local hero Warren Hood, who lays fiddle and mandolin on “Richland Woman Blues,” as “some blues, some folk, some soul, some rock, some gospel.” Hood replied, “Sounds like Ruthie Foster music.”

 

Visit Ruthie Foster's Website Visit Ruthie Foster on Facebook Visit Ruthie Foster on Twitter

Ruthie Foster Downloads:

Ruthie Foster on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 7 Jul 2017

Lincoln

NE

Zoofest

Sat, 8 Jul 2017

MARSHALLTOWN

IA

ORPHEUM THEATRE CENTER

Sun, 9 Jul 2017

Maplewood

NJ

Maplewoodstock

Thu, 13 Jul 2017

SEATTLE

WA

THE TRIPLE DOOR

Fri, 14 Jul 2017

SEATTLE

WA

THE TRIPLE DOOR

Sat, 15 Jul 2017

NAVARRO

CA

THE REDWOOD RAMBLE

Sun, 16 Jul 2017

Nicasio

CA

Rancho Nicasio

Fri, 28 Jul 2017

Natick

MA

The Center For Arts in Natick

Sat, 29 Jul 2017

South Hadley

MA

Fallfest Music and Arts Festival

Wed, 9 Aug 2017

North Truro

MA

Payomet Music Pavilion

Thu, 10 Aug 2017

RIDGEFIELD

CT

CHIRP

Sat, 12 Aug 2017

Cincinnati

OH

Cincy Blues Fest

Sun, 13 Aug 2017

Egg Harbor

WI

Peg Egan Performing Arts Center

Mon, 14 Aug 2017

Minneapolis

MN

Dakota Jazz Club

Tue, 15 Aug 2017

Minneapolis

MN

Dakota Jazz Club

Thu, 17 Aug 2017

Toronto

Canada

Hugh's Room

Sat, 19 Aug 2017

Owen Sound

Canada

Summerfolk Music and Crafts Festival

Fri, 25 Aug 2017

Vancouver

WA

The Vancouver Wine & Jazz Festival

Sun, 27 Aug 2017

Nanaimo

Canada

Nanaimo Summertime Blues Festival

Thu, 7 Sep 2017

Tuckerton

NJ

Lizzie Rose Music Room

Sat, 9 Sep 2017

Remus

MI

Wheatland Festival

Sun, 10 Sep 2017

Remus

MI

Wheatland Festival

Fri, 15 Sep 2017

Urbana

IL

COLWELL PLAYHOUSE AT KRANNERT CENTER

Sat, 16 Sep 2017

EDEN

TX

GREEN APPLE ART CENTER

Sat, 21 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Sun, 22 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Mon, 23 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Tue, 24 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Wed, 25 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Thu, 26 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Fri, 27 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Sat, 28 Oct 2017

FT LAUDERDALE

FL

LEGENDARY RHYTHM & BLUES CRUISE

Sat, 4 Nov 2017

Fish Creek

WI

Door Community Auditorium

Fri, 2 Feb 2018

Washington

DC

Kennedy Center Jazz Club

Sat, 3 Feb 2018

NEW YORK

NY

ZANKEL HALL AT CARNEGIE HALL

Sat, 3 Mar 2018

Middletown

OH

Dave Finkelman Auditorium

Fri, 20 Apr 2018

New Braunfels

TX

Brauntex Theatre