Rhiannon Giddens

Agent: Chris Colbourn
————

Rhiannon Giddens is the co-founder of the GRAMMY award-winning string band Carolina Chocolate Drops, in which she also plays banjo and fiddle. She began gaining recognition as a solo artist when she stole the show at the T Bone Burnett– produced Another Day, Another Time concert at New York City’s Town Hall in 2013. The elegant bearing, prodigious voice, and fierce spirit that brought the audience to its feet that night is also abundantly evident on Giddens’ critically acclaimed solo debut, the Grammy nominated album, Tomorrow Is My Turn, which masterfully blends American musical genres like gospel, jazz, blues, and country, showcasing her extraordinary emotional range and dazzling vocal prowess.

On February 24, 2017, Giddens follow-up album Freedom Highway will be released. It includes 9 original songs Giddens wrote or co-wrote along with a traditional song and two civil rights-era songs, Birmingham Sunday and Staple Singers’ well-known “Freedom Highway,” from which the album takes its name.

Giddens’ recent televised performances include The Late Show, Austin City Limits, Later…with Jools Holland,and both CBS Saturdayand Sunday Morning, among numerous other notable media appearances. She performed for President Obama and the First Lady on a White House Tribute to Gospel, along with Aretha Franklin and Emmylou Harris; the program was televised on PBS. Giddens duets with country superstar Eric Church on his powerful anti-racism song “Kill a Word”, which is currently top 15 on country radio; the two have performed the song on The Tonight Show and the CMA Awards, among other programs. Giddens received the BBC Radio 2 Folk Award for Singer of the Year and has won the Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Bluegrass and Banjo in 2016.

Giddens, who studied opera at Oberlin, makes her acting debut with a recurring role on the recently revived television drama Nashville, which debuts on CMT in January, playing the role of Hanna Lee “Hallie” Jordan, a young social worker with “the voice of an angel.

Click here for the Freedom Highway Album Announcement Press Release

For further assets, visit the Rhiannon Giddens Nonesuch page

Visit Rhiannon Giddens's Website Visit Rhiannon Giddens on Facebook Visit Rhiannon Giddens on Twitter

Rhiannon Giddens Downloads:

Rhiannon Giddens on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Thu, 2 Mar 2017

TURNER'S FALLS

MA

SHEA THEATRE [DUO WITH DIRK POWELL]

Fri, 3 Mar 2017

HUDSON

NY

CLUB HELSINKI [DUO WITH DIRK POWELL]

Sat, 4 Mar 2017

CONCORD

NH

THE CAPITOL CENTER FOR THE ARTS [DUO WITH DIRK POWELL]

Sun, 5 Mar 2017

HARTFORD

CT

INFINITY HALL [DUO WITH DIRK POWELL]

Mon, 6 Mar 2017

NEW YORK

NY

CARNEGIE HALL

Fri, 28 Apr 2017

INDIO

CA

STAGECOACH

Sun, 30 Apr 2017

PHOENIX

AZ

MIM MUSIC THEATER

Fri, 5 May 2017

NEW ORLEANS

LA

NEW ORLEANS JAZZ & HERITAGE FEST

Sun, 7 May 2017

CHAPEL HILL

NC

MEMORIAL HALL

Thu, 11 May 2017

SOMERVILLE

MA

SOMERVILLE THEATRE

Sat, 13 May 2017

NEW YORK

NY

LINCOLN CENTER AMERICAN SONGBOOK

Fri, 9 Jun 2017

CHARLESTON

SC

SPOLETO

Sun, 11 Jun 2017

CHICAGO

IL

CHICAGO BLUES FESTIVAL

Thu, 22 Jun 2017

OWENSBORO

KY

ROMP

Sat, 24 Jun 2017

KATONAH

NY

AMERICAN ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Fri, 21 Jul 2017

GLENDALE

AZ

GILA RIVER ARENA

Sat, 22 Jul 2017

ONTARIO

CA

CITIZENS BUSINESS BANK ARENA

Sun, 23 Jul 2017

SAN DIEGO

CA

VALLEY VIEW CASINO CENTER

Fri, 28 Jul 2017

CHAUTAUQUA

NY

CHAUTAUQUA

Fri, 4 Aug 2017

NEWPORT

RI

NEWPORT JAZZ FESTIVAL

Sun, 6 Aug 2017

ALBANY

NY

THE EGG

Wed, 9 Aug 2017

RALEIGH

NC

NORTH CAROLINA MUSEUM OF ART

Fri, 18 Aug 2017

LYONS

CO

ROCKY MOUNTAIN FOLKS FESTIVAL