Rhiannon Giddens

Agent: Chris Colbourn
————

Rhiannon Giddens is the co-founder of the GRAMMY award-winning string band Carolina Chocolate Drops, in which she also plays banjo and fiddle. She began gaining recognition as a solo artist when she stole the show at the T Bone Burnett– produced Another Day, Another Time concert at New York City’s Town Hall in 2013. The elegant bearing, prodigious voice, and fierce spirit that brought the audience to its feet that night is also abundantly evident on Giddens’ critically acclaimed solo debut, the Grammy nominated album, Tomorrow Is My Turn, which masterfully blends American musical genres like gospel, jazz, blues, and country, showcasing her extraordinary emotional range and dazzling vocal prowess.

Giddens’ follow-up album Freedom Highway was released in February, 2017. It includes 9 original songs Giddens wrote or co-wrote along with a traditional song and two civil rights-era songs, Birmingham Sunday and Staple Singers’ well-known “Freedom Highway,” from which the album takes its name.

Giddens’ recent televised performances include The Late Show, Austin City Limits, Later…with Jools Holland,and both CBS Saturdayand Sunday Morning, among numerous other notable media appearances. She performed for President Obama and the First Lady on a White House Tribute to Gospel, along with Aretha Franklin and Emmylou Harris; the program was televised on PBS. Giddens duets with country superstar Eric Church on his powerful anti-racism song “Kill a Word”, which is currently top 15 on country radio; the two have performed the song on The Tonight Show and the CMA Awards, among other programs. Giddens received the BBC Radio 2 Folk Award for Singer of the Year and has won the Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Bluegrass and Banjo in 2016.

Giddens, who studied opera at Oberlin, makes her acting debut with a recurring role on the recently revived television drama Nashville, which debuts on CMT in January, playing the role of Hanna Lee “Hallie” Jordan, a young social worker with “the voice of an angel.

Click here for the Freedom Highway Album Announcement Press Release

For further assets, visit the Rhiannon Giddens Nonesuch page

Visit Rhiannon Giddens's Website Visit Rhiannon Giddens on Facebook Visit Rhiannon Giddens on Twitter

Rhiannon Giddens Downloads:

Rhiannon Giddens on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 14 Jul 2017

Vancouver

Canada

Vancouver Folk Festival

Sat, 15 Jul 2017

Vancouver

Canada

Vancouver Folk Festival

Sun, 16 Jul 2017

Portland

OR

Oregon Zoo Ampitheatre

Mon, 17 Jul 2017

BEND

OR

TOWER THEATER

Tue, 18 Jul 2017

Seattle

WA

The Woodland Park Zoo

Thu, 20 Jul 2017

San Francisco

CA

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, 21 Jul 2017

GLENDALE

AZ

GILA RIVER ARENA

Sat, 22 Jul 2017

ONTARIO

CA

CITIZENS BUSINESS BANK ARENA

Sun, 23 Jul 2017

SAN DIEGO

CA

VALLEY VIEW CASINO CENTER

Fri, 28 Jul 2017

CHAUTAUQUA

NY

CHAUTAUQUA

Sat, 29 Jul 2017

Camden

NJ

Xponential Music Festival

Sun, 30 Jul 2017

NEWPORT

RI

NEWPORT FOLK FESTIVAL

Tue, 1 Aug 2017

BROWNFIELD

ME

STONE MOUNTAIN ARTS CENTER

Wed, 2 Aug 2017

Hanover

NH

Hopkins Center at Dartmouth College

Fri, 4 Aug 2017

NEWPORT

RI

NEWPORT JAZZ FESTIVAL

Sat, 5 Aug 2017

NEWPORT

RI

NEWPORT JAZZ FESTIVAL

Sun, 6 Aug 2017

ALBANY

NY

THE EGG

Tue, 8 Aug 2017

ANNAPOLIS

MD

RAM'S HEAD ON STAGE

Wed, 9 Aug 2017

RALEIGH

NC

NORTH CAROLINA MUSEUM OF ART

Fri, 11 Aug 2017

Edmonton

Canada

Edmonton Folk Festival

Sun, 13 Aug 2017

ALTA

WY

GRAND TARGHEE BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL

Thu, 17 Aug 2017

Breckenridge

CO

Breckenridge Festival of The Arts

Fri, 18 Aug 2017

LYONS

CO

ROCKY MOUNTAIN FOLKS FESTIVAL

Fri, 15 Sep 2017

West Lafayette

IN

Purdue University

Sat, 16 Sep 2017

Kent

OH

The Kent Stage

Tue, 19 Sep 2017

Madison

WI

Capitol Theater

Wed, 20 Sep 2017

St Paul

MN

The O'Shaughnessy

Fri, 22 Sep 2017

Chicago

IL

The Vic Theatre

Sat, 23 Sep 2017

Bloomington

IN

Buskirk-Chumley Theater

Sun, 24 Sep 2017

Nashville

TN

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Mon, 25 Sep 2017

St Louis

MO

The Pageant

Wed, 27 Sep 2017

Knoxville

TN

The Bijou Theatre

Fri, 29 Sep 2017

Germantown

TN

Germantown Performing Arts Center

Sat, 30 Sep 2017

Charlotte

NC

Neighborhood Theatre

Tue, 3 Oct 2017

State College

PA

The State Theatre

Wed, 4 Oct 2017

Richmond

VA

Modlin Center for the Arts

Thu, 5 Oct 2017

Greensboro

NC

University of North Carolina Greensboro

Wed, 25 Oct 2017

LOS ANGELES

CA

WALT DISNEY CONCERT HALL

Thu, 26 Oct 2017

Santa Barbara

CA

University of California, Santa Barbara

Sat, 28 Oct 2017

San Francisco

CA

Herbst Theatre

Fri, 10 Nov 2017

Cincinnati

OH

Cincinnati Music Hall

Sat, 11 Nov 2017

Cincinnati

OH

Cincinnati Music Hall

Sun, 12 Nov 2017

Cincinnati

OH

Cincinnati Music Hall