Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers

Agent: Lori Peters
——-

An accomplished Americana instrumentalist with foundations in jazz and swing music, Phoebe makes an impressive creative leap with this record. It’s the culmination of a five year journey that has taken her from her Austin roots through Music Row, Brooklyn, and even to India to study with seventh-generation master violinist Kala Ramnath.  Along the way, Phoebe found her voice and delivered her most inspired set of songs to date — the soundtrack to her self-discovery.

Shanti’s Shadow marks an arrival for Phoebe Hunt, whose artistic and personal journey has deep storylines. These masterfully crafted songs are brought to life by the musicians Phoebe has gathered – each a virtuoso in their own right. Phoebe is skilled at taking seemingly disparate elements and pulling them together into a dazzling kaleidoscope of lush, coherent sound and rhythm patterns. The result is music that swells, crashes and breathes organically under Phoebe’s soulful, plaintive voice. Sounds of Americana and Texas Tinged Swing are woven with exotic rhythmic concepts culled from Phoebe’s time in India.

Shanti’s Shadow is always surprising yet comfortingly familiar.  Prior to recording this album, the entire band traveled to India to study at an ashram outside of Pune with master violinist Kala Ramnath. In India, they practiced music, meditation and philosophy – sometimes spending as many as 10 hours a day working and re-working Tats and Ragas. This intense, experiential study is apparent in the seamless musical play and improvisation of Shanti’s Shadow.

 

Visit Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers's Website Visit Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers on Facebook Visit Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers on Twitter

Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers Downloads:

Phoebe Hunt & The Gatherers on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 31 Mar 2017

BROOKYL

NY

KNITTING FACTORY BROOKLYN

Tue, 11 Apr 2017

NEW YORK

NY

ROCKWOOD MUSIC HALL

Fri, 19 May 2017

MARLBORO

NY

THE FALCON

Thu, 25 May 2017

FELTON

CA

DON QUIXOTE'S

Sun, 28 May 2017

TUOLUMNE

CA

STRAWBERRY MUSIC FESTIVAL

Thu, 1 Jun 2017

DALLAS

TX

POOR DAVID'S PUB

Fri, 2 Jun 2017

AUSTIN

TX

PARAMOUNT THEATRE

Sat, 3 Jun 2017

HOUSTON

TX

MCGONIGEL'S MUCKY DUCK

Sun, 4 Jun 2017

KERRVILLE

TX

KERRVILLE FOLK FESTIVAL

Sat, 10 Jun 2017

PAGOSA SPRINGS

CO

PAGOSA FOLK & BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL

Sun, 11 Jun 2017

PAGOSA SPRINGS

CO

PAGOSA FOLK & BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL

Wed, 14 Jun 2017

BERKELY

CA

FREIGHT & SALVAGE COFFEEHOUSE

Sat, 24 Jun 2017

IDAHO SPRINGS

CO

RAPIDGRASS BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL

Sun, 25 Jun 2017

IDAHO SPRINGS

CO

RAPIDGRASS BLUEGRASS FESTIVAL

Fri, 30 Jun 2017

CRESTED BUTTE

CO

CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Thu, 13 Jul 2017

PADUCAH

KY

RIVERFRONT CONCERT SERIES

Fri, 14 Jul 2017

MEMPHIS

TN

LEVITT SHELL