Irma Thomas

Agent: Tom Gold

———-

GRAMMY Award winner Irma Thomas is also known as the Soul Queen of New Orleans and is one of New Orleans’ most beloved and iconic entertainers. Her version of “Ruler Of My Heart” was re-interpreted by Otis Redding as “Pain In My Heart” and her version of “Time Is On My Side” currently has over 3.5 million listens on Spotify and was covered by The Rolling Stones. In 2008 Irma was honored as the subject of the prestigious New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival poster. She appeared on HBO’s hit series Treme, in which she sang with an All Star backing band including Allen Toussaint, who produced some of her best known work.

 

“…the woman known as the Soul Queen of New Orleans is a national treasure. More than that, she remains at the top of her talent: If anything, her lush voice, with its earthy tones and full-note roundness, has grown more nuanced and emotionally resonant with time.”   – Associated Press

“It’s easy to read Hurricane Katrina metaphors into everything New Orleans musicians record, but that tragedy runs deep through this set of understated piano-based songs by Crescent City’s long reigning queen of soul…Thomas’ versions of these stark, powerful tunes help Simply Grand live up to its title.” – Rolling Stone

“Her head-tilting takes on R&B standards since the early 1960s place her in the stylistic neighborhood of Aretha Franklin, with a spark of Southern-fried moxie…Irma Thomas plus piano is Simply Grand.” – The Wall Street Journal

“…lets her put the grand in grand dame.”  – People

“Ms. Thomas sings warmly and forthrightly amid the two-fisted rumbas, R&B vamps, jazz ballads and barrelhouse flourishes. And without getting heavy-handed the song choices haven’t forgotten what happened to her beloved city…” – The New York Times

Visit Irma Thomas's Website

Irma Thomas Downloads:

Irma Thomas on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Sat, 30 Sep 2017

Rohnert Park (Sonoma)

CA

Weill Hall-Green Music Center

Sun, 1 Oct 2017

Folsom

CA

Harris Center for the Arts

Mon, 2 Oct 2017

Berkeley

CA

Freight & Salvage

Tue, 3 Oct 2017

Santa Cruz

CA

Rio Theatre

Thu, 5 Oct 2017

Solana Beach

CA

Belly Up Tavern

Fri, 6 Oct 2017

Irvine

CA

Irvine Barclay Theatre

Sat, 7 Oct 2017

Phoenix

AZ

Musical Instrument Museum

Sun, 8 Oct 2017

Tucson

AZ

Fox Tucson Theatre

Tue, 10 Oct 2017

Santa Fe

NM

Lensic Performing Arts Center

Wed, 11 Oct 2017

Midland

TX

Wagner Noel PAC

Tue, 17 Oct 2017

Oklahoma City

OK

Tower Theatre

Fri, 20 Oct 2017

Fairfield

IA

Fairfield Arts & Convention Center

Sat, 21 Oct 2017

Davenport

IA

Adler Theatre-Rivercenter

Sun, 22 Oct 2017

Milwaukee

WI

Wisconsin Center Arena

Mon, 23 Oct 2017

Mineapolis

MN

Guthrie Theatre

Wed, 25 Oct 2017

Findlay

OH

Marathon Center

Thu, 26 Oct 2017

Notre Dame

IN

Leighton Concert Hall

Fri, 27 Oct 2017

Chicago

IL

Symphony Center

Sat, 28 Oct 2017

Clinton Township

MI

Macomb Center for Performing Arts

Sun, 29 Oct 2017

Detroit

MI

Music Hall of Detroit

Mon, 30 Oct 2017

Grand Rapids

MI

Forest Hills Fine Arts Center

Wed, 1 Nov 2017

Wilmington

DE

Grand Opera House

Thu, 2 Nov 2017

Binghamton

NY

Osterhout Concert Theatre

Fri, 3 Nov 2017

Boston

MA

Berklee Performance Center

Sat, 4 Nov 2017

Bloomsburg

PA

Haas Center for the Arts

Sun, 5 Nov 2017

Greenvale

NY

Tilles Center

Tue, 7 Nov 2017

Toms River

NJ

Grunin Center

Wed, 8 Nov 2017

Pittsburgh

PA

Byham Theater

Fri, 10 Nov 2017

Winchester

VA

Armstrong Concert Hall

Sat, 11 Nov 2017

Richmond

VA

Camp Concert Hall

Sun, 12 Nov 2017

North Bethesda

MD

Music Center at Strathmore

Mon, 13 Nov 2017

Durham

NC

Carolina Theatre

Thu, 16 Nov 2017

Atlanta

GA

Emerson Concert Hall-Schwartz Center

Fri, 17 Nov 2017

Irmo

SC

Harbison Theatre

Sun, 19 Nov 2017

Daytona Beach

FL

Peabody Auditorium

Mon, 20 Nov 2017

The Villages

FL

Morse Performing Arts Center

Tue, 21 Nov 2017

St. Petersburg

FL

Mahaffey Theatre