FACS

Agent: Mahmood Shaikh
————

Chicago trio FACS was founded in 2017 by former Disappears members Brian Case and Noah Leger, along with their bandmate Jonathan van Herik. After van Herik amicably parted ways with the group just before the release of their debut album Negative Houses, Case and Leger recruited longtime friend Alianna Kalaba (Cat Power, We Ragazzi) to play bass and FACS began methodically destroying live venues across the world. Lifelike is their sophomore release; six tracks clocking in at half an hour, carrying forward the musical trail blazed by the debut towards a new frontier.

Lifelike occupies a space in between the band’s debut and Case and Leger’s work with Disappears, applying minimalism and space in compositions that reside somewhere near the realms of post-punk, art-rock, shoegaze, industrial music and post-rock. Lifelike however adds a more melodic sensibility, without sacrificing any of the debut’s punishing sonic muscle, with a discernible audial force perceivable thru the speakers (credit due to engineer Jeremy Lemos’ recording via Electrical Audio as well as John Congleton’s mixing, and Jason Ward of Chicago Mastering Service for accurately capturing the punishing heft of the band’s live sound).

Kicking off with the lumbering “Another Country”, whose opening drone lulls the listener into a trance before Leger’s drums crack the earth below. The band veers close to This Heat territory here, with Kalaba’s minimal bass throb and Case’s nearly unrecognizable guitar loops and multi-tracked voice punctuating the spaces between. Album standout “In Time” careens with purpose with cascading sheets of guitar noise over the rhythm sections ever-advancing march, while “XUXA”s melodic washes of monochrome eases the tension ever so slightly. Side two awaits, with the anxiety-ridden opener “Anti-Body” and the claustrophobic “Loom State’s clanging aura of menace. “Lifelike” closes with “Total History”, whose syrupy shuffle belies the blunt-force trauma of its closing minutes, with the sheer weight of sonic force seeming to blow out the speakers it emanates from. A phoenix returning to the ashes from whence it came.

Visit FACS's Website Visit FACS on Facebook Visit FACS on Twitter

FACS Downloads:

FACS on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Wed, 11 Sep 2019

MADISON

WI

HIGH NOON SALON

Thu, 12 Sep 2019

MINNEAPOLIS

MN

CEDAR CULTURAL CENTER

Sat, 14 Sep 2019

BOZEMAN

MT

THE RIALTO

Mon, 16 Sep 2019

SEATTLE

WA

NEUMOS

Tue, 17 Sep 2019

PORTLAND

OR

WONDER BALLROOM

Thu, 19 Sep 2019

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

AUGUST HALL

Fri, 20 Sep 2019

VENTURA

CA

DISCOVERY VENTURA

Sat, 21 Sep 2019

LOS ANGELES

CA

TERAGRAM BALLROOM

Mon, 23 Sep 2019

MESA

AZ

THE NILE

Tue, 24 Sep 2019

SANTA FE

NM

MEOW WOLF

Wed, 25 Sep 2019

DENVER

CO

BLUEBIRD THEATER

Thu, 26 Sep 2019

OMAHA

NE

REVERB LOUNGE

Fri, 27 Sep 2019

DAVENPORT

IA

RACCOON MOTEL

Sat, 28 Sep 2019

CHICAGO

IL

THALIA HALL

Thu, 10 Oct 2019

KNOXVILLE

TN

THE MILL & MINE

Fri, 11 Oct 2019

RALEIGH

NC

THE RITZ

Sat, 12 Oct 2019

SAYREVILLE

NJ

STARLAND BALLROOM

Sun, 13 Oct 2019

MASPETH

NY

KNOCKDOWN CENTER

Mon, 14 Oct 2019

BUFFALO

NY

ASBURY HALL AT BABEVILLE

Wed, 16 Oct 2019

DETROIT

MI

MASONIC TEMPLE - CATHEDRAL

Thu, 17 Oct 2019

BLOOMINGTON

IL

THE CASTLE THEATRE

Fri, 18 Oct 2019

MADISON

WI

THE SYLVEE

Sat, 19 Oct 2019

ST. PAUL

MN

THE PALACE THEATRE

Sun, 20 Oct 2019

MAQUOKETA

IA

CODFISH HOLLOW BARNSTORMERS

Mon, 21 Oct 2019

DES MOINES

IA

VAUDEVILLE MEWS

Tue, 22 Oct 2019

LINCOLN

NE

BOURBON THEATRE

Wed, 23 Oct 2019

LAWRENCE

KS

LIBERTY HALL

Thu, 24 Oct 2019

OKLAHOMA CITY

OK

CRITERION THEATER

Fri, 25 Oct 2019

HOUSTON

TX

WHITE OAK MUSIC HALL - OUTSIDE

Sat, 26 Oct 2019

AUSTIN

TX

HOTEL VEGAS

Sun, 27 Oct 2019

HOT SPRINGS

AR

LOW KEY ARTS