Dori Freeman

Agent: Lori Peters

“The purity of Dori Freeman’s voice and the directness of her songwriting reflect not only her Appalachian hometown — Galax, Va. — but also a determined classicism, a rejection of the ways modern country punches itself up for radio and arenas.”
– Jon Pareles, The New York Times

“A strong contender for Americana debut of the year” —Rolling Stone Country

Dori Freeman’s debut album is the kind of country-folk record that hits you like a train: stunningly gorgeous, lyrically rich and so thoughtfully executed it seems it must be the work of an artist with years of releases under her belt. Yet the 10-track, self-titled album is Freeman’s label debut. Produced by Teddy Thompson, son of folk legends Richard & Linda Thompson, Dori Freeman features an all-star cast of backing musicians (including producer Thompson himself).

Read More

Freeman’s lilting vocals shine front and center, at times reminiscent of Emmylou Harris, and are delivered with such an aching, melancholic sincerity that her reflections on love, loss and heartbreak find themselves buried deep under the skin. The album dances between country and western, old-time and folk, some instrumentations swelling with pedal steel and country fiddle, others reducing to simply Freeman’s voice and sparse percussion.

Born and raised by a musical family in the Blue Ridge town of Galax, Virginia, Freeman grew up performing in her grandfather’s shop on the historic Crooked Road – a hugely important place in American musical history that remains a bastion of roots traditions today. Freeman herself plays an integral role in the new generation of roots music celebrants in the region, and her music is certainly influenced by the rich musical history of the area – although it extends well beyond the revivalist realm. Pure, striking, and at times utterly heartbreaking, Dori Freeman is a record of profound catharsis from an artist with a deep sense of purpose, and a visceral approach that cuts to the bone.

Visit Dori Freeman's Website Visit Dori Freeman on Facebook Visit Dori Freeman on Twitter

Dori Freeman Downloads:

Dori Freeman on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Fri, 7 Jul 2017

Butte

MT

Montana Folk Festival

Sat, 8 Jul 2017

Butte

MT

Montana Folk Festival

Sun, 9 Jul 2017

Butte

MT

Montana Folk Festival

Thu, 13 Jul 2017

Lexington

VA

Lime Kiln Theatre

Sat, 15 Jul 2017

Mount Solon

VA

Red Wing Roots Music Festival

Fri, 28 Jul 2017

Lowell

MA

Lowell Folk Festival

Sat, 29 Jul 2017

Lowell

MA

Lowell Folk Festival

Sun, 30 Jul 2017

Lowell

MA

Lowell Folk Festival

Mon, 31 Jul 2017

Lowell

MA

Lowell Folk Festival

Thu, 3 Aug 2017

Happy Valley

OR

Pickathon

Thu, 10 Aug 2017

Harrisonburg

VA

Pale Fire Brewing Company

Fri, 11 Aug 2017

Winston Salem

NC

Muddy Creek Music Hall

Sun, 13 Aug 2017

Nashville

TN

The Basement

Sat, 26 Aug 2017

Johnson City

TN

Down Home

Fri, 6 Oct 2017

Arrington

VA

The Festy Experience

Sat, 7 Oct 2017

Arrington

VA

The Festy Experience

Sun, 8 Oct 2017

Arrington

VA

The Festy Experience