Author & Punisher

Agent: Mahmood Shaikh

———-

After leaving a career as mechanical engineer in Boston to focus on art and sculpture, Tristan Shone, the creator and sole artist behind AUTHOR & PUNISHER, moved west to pursue his MFA in Southern California. In the metal and machine shops of University of California, San Diego, Shone forged a relationship with design, sound and fabrication that ultimately yielded AUTHOR & PUNISHER‘s first music which mapped the journey away from traditional instrumentation towards custom made, precision machinery. Shone used his technical knowledge, along with his artistic background to create what Wired Magazine has hailed as his own “special brand of doom metal”, using these custom “Drone Machines”.

All aspects of the AUTHOR & PUNISHER sound begin with physical movement, limbs struggling in unison to coordinate a wall of electronic rhythm and oscillation, ultimately conditioned by an organic and loose quality absent of plastic perfection. AUTHOR & PUNISHER performances are a real amalgamation between man and mechanisms. They are direct, physical, heavy experiences that have amassed praise and intrigue from a wide array of audiences. Pitchfork styled him “immediate but mysterious,” Stereogum described his “chilling, unrecognizable form,” and NPR hails him as “a thrill [who] fires on all cylinders”.

Read More

Now in 2018, AUTHOR & PUNISHER delivers his sixth full-length recording and Relapse debut Beastland. A robotic experimentation in industrial metal, noise, doom and drone, AUTHOR & PUNISHER recalls Nine Inch Nails channeling Godflesh, traversing through dark, uncompromising, and often disturbing soundscapes with occasional detours into rich melodies and splinters of light. Armed with newly built “Drone Machines” and a new label, Beastland is AUTHOR & PUNISHER’s career-defining statement and a powerful listening experience that further blurs the line between man and machine.

“I built new machines for this album to make more aggressive and dynamic music. These devices are compact and powerful, made from robotic components, intended for high energy repetition. I, as do many others, feel rage against the Beasts of our era: those who horde, who poison, or who discriminate. We need aggressive music to make an aggressive statement. Beastland is an introspection of who we are as a human race. At a time when we have the tools, the intellect, and the history to remind us how to treat each other and the earth, we go far out of our way to feast on the less fortunate and vulnerable, disregarding the atrocities and lessons of the past.”

Visit Author & Punisher's Website Visit Author & Punisher on Facebook Visit Author & Punisher on Twitter

Author & Punisher Downloads:

Author & Punisher on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Mon, 15 Jul 2019

SALT LAKE CITY

UT

METRO MUSIC HALL

Tue, 16 Jul 2019

DENVER

CO

MARQUIS THEATER

Thu, 18 Jul 2019

LINCOLN

NE

BOURBON THEATRE

Fri, 19 Jul 2019

KANSAS CITY

MO

THE RIOT ROOM

Sat, 20 Jul 2019

ST. LOUIS

MO

FUBAR

Mon, 22 Jul 2019

MINNEAPOLIS

MN

STUDIO B @ SKYWAY THEATRE

Tue, 23 Jul 2019

MADISON

WI

HIGH NOON SALOON

Wed, 24 Jul 2019

CHICAGO

IL

REGGIE'S ROCK CLUB

Thu, 25 Jul 2019

HAMTRAMCK

MI

SMALL'S

Fri, 26 Jul 2019

COLUMBUS

OH

A&R MUSIC BAR

Sat, 27 Jul 2019

LAWRENCEVILLE

PA

CATTIVO

Mon, 29 Jul 2019

TORONTO

ON

THE VELVET UNDERGROUND

Wed, 31 Jul 2019

ALLSTON

MA

BRIGHTON MUSIC HALL

Thu, 1 Aug 2019

NEW YORK

NY

THE BOWERY BALLROOM

Fri, 2 Aug 2019

PHILADELPHIA

PA

THE VOLTAGE LOUNGE

Sat, 3 Aug 2019

BALTIMORE

MD

BALTIMORE SOUNDSTAGE

Sun, 4 Aug 2019

CHAPEL HILL

NC

LOCAL 506

Mon, 5 Aug 2019

NASHVILLE

TN

EXIT/IN

Wed, 7 Aug 2019

ATLANTA

GA

THE MASQUERADE - HELL STAGE

Thu, 8 Aug 2019

NEW ORLEANS

LA

THE PARISH AT HOUSE OF BLUES

Fri, 9 Aug 2019

HOUSTON

TX

SCOUT BAR

Sat, 10 Aug 2019

DALLAS

TX

GAS MONKEY BAR N GRILL

Sun, 11 Aug 2019

AUSTIN

TX

EMPIRE CONTROL ROOM

Mon, 12 Aug 2019

TUCSON

AZ

191 TOOLE

Thu, 15 Aug 2019

PHOENIX

AZ

THE REBEL LOUNGE

Fri, 16 Aug 2019

SAN DIEGO

CA

BRICK BY BRICK

Sat, 17 Aug 2019

LOS ANGELES

CA

TERAGRAM BALLROOM

Sun, 18 Aug 2019

SAN FRANCISCO

CA

SLIM'S