Amythyst Kiah

Agent: Chris Colbourn
———

“Amythyst Kiah is one of roots music’s most exciting emerging talents, blending a deep knowledge of old time music with sensibilities spanning classic country to contemporary R&B.” —Rolling Stone

“Her razor-sharp guitar picking alone guarantees her a place among blues masters, but it’s her deep-hued voice that can change on a dime from brushed steel to melted toffee that commands attention.” —The New York Times

Read The New York Times review of Amythyst’s Globalfest performance

A professed Southern Gothic, alt-country blues singer/songwriter based in Johnson City, TN, Amythyst Kiah’s commanding stage presence is only matched by her raw and powerful vocals—a deeply moving, hypnotic sound that stirs echoes of a distant and restless past.

Accoutered interchangeably with banjo, acoustic guitar, or a full band (Her Chest of Glass), Amythyst’s toolbox is augmented by her scholarship of African-American roots music. Her eclectic influences span decades, drawing heavily on old time music (Mississippi Sheiks, Son House, Jimmie Rodgers, Olla Belle Reed, Carter Family), inspired by strong R&B and country music vocalists from the ’50s-’70s (Big Mama Thornton, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Mahalia Jackson, Dolly Parton, Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn) and influenced by contemporary artists with powerful vocal integrity (Adele, Florence and the Machine, Megan Jean and the KFB, Janelle Monae).

Recent tours in Scotland and the U.K. have seen Amythyst performing for audiences at the Americana Music Association UK Showcase, the Southern Fried Festival, Cambridge Folk Festival, the Edinburgh Jazz Festival, and SummerTyne Americana Festival. She is a crowd favorite at Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion in the U.S., has performed at the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts, and the Smithsonian Folk Life Festival.

Provocative and coolly fierce, Amythyst Kiah’s ability to cross the boundaries of blues and old-time through reinterpretation is groundbreaking and simply unforgettable.

Visit Amythyst Kiah's Website Visit Amythyst Kiah on Facebook Visit Amythyst Kiah on Twitter

Amythyst Kiah Downloads:

Amythyst Kiah on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Sat, 18 May 2019

LOUISVILLE

KY

FORESTFEST

Thu, 23 May 2019

ALBANY

NY

THE EGG

Sat, 25 May 2019

ATLANTA

GA

ATLANTA BOTANICAL GARDENS

Sat, 1 Jun 2019

NEW YORK

NY

NEW YORK GUITAR FESTIVAL

Fri, 7 Jun 2019

NASHVILLE

TN

MUSICIAN'S CORNER

Sat, 8 Jun 2019

WHITESBURG

KY

APPALSHOP'S SEEDTIME FESTIVAL

Sun, 23 Jun 2019

SARATOGA SPRINGS

NY

CAFFE LENA

Wed, 3 Jul 2019

WEST WHATELY

MA

WATERMELON WEDNESDAY SERIES

Wed, 10 Jul 2019

BOSTON

MA

MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS

Fri, 12 Jul 2019

HOT SPRINGS

NC

WILD GOOSE FESTIVAL

Sat, 13 Jul 2019

ABERDEEN

NC

THE ROOSTER'S WIFE

Wed, 17 Jul 2019

RENO

NV

ARTOWN FESTIVAL

Tue, 23 Jul 2019

WESTPORT

CT

LEVITT PAVILION

Wed, 24 Jul 2019

WASHINGTON

DC

SMITHSONIAN NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY AND CULTURE

Thu, 25 Jul 2019

CHAUTAUQUA

NY

CHAUTAUQUA AMPHITHEATER

Fri, 26 Jul 2019

ALBANY

NY

THE EGG

Sat, 27 Jul 2019

WOLFEBORO

NH

GREAT WATERS MUSIC FESTIVAL

Sun, 28 Jul 2019

NEWPORT

RI

NEWPORT FOLK FESTIVAL

Tue, 30 Jul 2019

WASHINGTON

CT

FIVE SENSES FESTIVAL

Wed, 31 Jul 2019

WASHINGTON

CT

FIVE SENSES FESTIVAL

Thu, 1 Aug 2019

NEW YORK

NY

RIVER & BLUES

Fri, 2 Aug 2019

WASHINGTON

CT

FIVE SENSES FESTIVAL

Sat, 3 Aug 2019

WASHINGTON

CT

FIVE SENSES FESTIVAL

Sun, 4 Aug 2019

WASHINGTON

CT

FIVE SENSES FESTIVAL

Fri, 6 Sep 2019

CONCORD

NH

CAPITOL CENTER FOR THE ARTS - BANK OF NEW HAMPSHIRE STAGE

Sat, 7 Sep 2019

NEW HAVEN

CT

CT FOLK FESTIAL & GREEN EXPO

Fri, 9 Aug 2019

DARLINGTON

MD

SISTERSPACE WEEKEND

Fri, 20 Sep 2019

LOUISVILLE

KY

BOURBON AND BEYOND FESTIVAL

Sat, 5 Oct 2019

ASHEVILLE

NC

ISIS MUSIC HALL