Amythyst Kiah

Agent: Chris Colbourn
———

“Amythyst Kiah is one of roots music’s most exciting emerging talents, blending a deep knowledge of old time music with sensibilities spanning classic country to contemporary R&B.” —Rolling Stone

“Her razor-sharp guitar picking alone guarantees her a place among blues masters, but it’s her deep-hued voice that can change on a dime from brushed steel to melted toffee that commands attention.” —The New York Times

Read The New York Times review of Amythyst’s Globalfest performance

Born in Chattanooga and now based in Johnson City, Amythyst Kiah’s commanding stage presence is matched by her raw and powerful vocals—a deeply moving, hypnotic sound that stirs echoes of a distant and restless past.

Accompanied interchangeably with banjo, acoustic guitar, or a full band, her eclectic influences span decades, finding inspiration in old time music, alternative rock, folk, country, and blues.

Our Native Daughters, her recent collaboration with Rhiannon Giddens, Leyla McCalla, and Allison Russell (Birds of Chicago), has delivered a full-length album produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell, Songs of Our Native Daughters (out now on Smithsonian Folkways). NPR described the opening track, Black Myself, written by Amythyst, as “the simmering defiance of self-respect in the face of racism.” The supergroup will hit the road in July with a series of special dates that include performances at Washington D.C.’s Smithsonian Museum of African American History & Culture as well as Newport Folk Festival. Most recently, the group has been nominated for Duo/Group of the Year at the 2019 Americana Honors & Awards.

Amythyst regularly tours the United Kingdom and has performed at Celtic Connections, Southern Fried Festival, Cambridge Folk Festival, the Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival, and SummerTyne Americana Festival. She is a crowd favorite at Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion in the U.S. and has shined at the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts, Smithsonian Folk Life Festival, Winnipeg Folk Festival, and opening for artists such as the Indigo Girls, Rhiannon Giddens, Dom Flemons, Old Crow Medicine Show, First Aid Kit, Darrell Scott, and Tim O’Brien.

Provocative and fierce, Amythyst’s ability to cross boundaries is groundbreaking and simply unforgettable.

VISIT AMYTHYST KIAH’S INSTAGRAM

Visit Amythyst Kiah's Website Visit Amythyst Kiah on Facebook Visit Amythyst Kiah on Twitter

Amythyst Kiah Downloads:

Amythyst Kiah on Tour:

Date City Location Venue

Tue, 10 Sep 2019

RALEIGH

NC

THE POUR HOUSE MUSIC HALL

Fri, 13 Sep 2019

NASHVILLE

TN

AMERICANAFEST

Sun, 15 Sep 2019

ASHEVILLE

NC

CHOW CHOW: AN ASHEVILLE CULINARY EVENT

Thu, 19 Sep 2019

BOWLING GREEN

KY

CAPITOL ARTS CENTER

Fri, 20 Sep 2019

LOUISVILLE

KY

BOURBON AND BEYOND FESTIVAL

Sun, 22 Sep 2019

BRISTOL

VA

BRISTOL RHYTHM AND ROOTS REUNION

Sat, 28 Sep 2019

CARYVILLE

TN

LOUIE BLUIE MUSIC AND ARTS FESTIVAL

Thu, 3 Oct 2019

ATHENS

GA

THE FOUNDRY

Sat, 5 Oct 2019

ASHEVILLE

NC

ISIS MUSIC HALL

Sun, 6 Oct 2019

GREENSBORO

NC

THE CROWN AT CAROLINA THEATRE

Sat, 12 Oct 2019

MORRISON

CO

PASTFORWARD

Sat, 12 Oct 2019

DENVER

CO

TUFT THEATRE AT SWALLOW HILL

Sat, 19 Oct 2019

JOHNSON CITY

TN

JOHNSON CITY SESSIONS 90TH ANNIVERSARY - "TELL IT TO ME"

Fri, 8 Nov 2019

MOSELEY

VA

FOXCREEK CLUBHOUSE

Sat, 9 Nov 2019

PHILADELPHIA

PA

THE LOCKS AT SONA

Mon, 11 Nov 2019

NORTHAMPTON

MA

THE PARLOR ROOM at SIGNATURE SOUNDS

Thu, 14 Nov 2019

RIDGEFIELD

CT

THE RIDGEFIELD PLAYHOUSE

Fri, 15 Nov 2019

PORTSMOUTH

NH

SOUL CAFE MUSIC SERIES AT HISTORIC NORTH CHURCH

Sat, 16 Nov 2019

BROOKLYN

NY

MURMRR

Sun, 17 Nov 2019

NEW YORK

NY

GUITAR MASH

Tue, 19 Nov 2019

GRAND RAPIDS

MI

LISTENING ROOM

Sun, 3 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Mon, 4 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Tue, 5 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Wed, 6 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Thu, 7 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Fri, 8 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Sat, 9 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Sun, 10 Feb 2019

MIAMI

FL

CAYAMO CRUISE

Sat, 7 Mar 2020

WINSTON-SALEM

NC

STEVENS CENTER